Patrick J. Strollo, Jr., MD, received the Excellence in Education Award from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM). Strollo was presented with the award at SLEEP 2015.

Strollo has been a member of the AASM since 1988. Strollo was AASM president from 2010-2011 and has served the AASM in a variety of leadership positions. He is medical director of the University of Pittsburg Medical Center (UPMC) Sleep Medicine Center and professor of medicine, professor of clinical and translational science, and co-director of the CTSI Sleep Medicine Institute at the University of Pittsburgh.

Established in 2002, the Excellence in Education Award is presented to those individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the teaching of sleep medicine. The award serves to recognize and honor dedicated individuals who have skillfully taught and enhanced the knowledge of professional and lay people in the areas of sleep and sleep medicine.