The National Sleep Foundation (NSF) announced the 2017 recipient of its Lifetime Achievement Award is Mark. R. Rosekind, PhD. NSF will present the award to Rosekind on March 10, 2017 in Washington, DC.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the organization’s highest award given to an individual who has demonstrated sustained professional productivity and leadership in the field of sleep medicine. The award also honors an individual’s contributions to professional organizations, societal education, institutional and public health.

“NSF is honored to present Dr Rosekind with its Lifetime Achievement Award. He has been at the vanguard of sleep and fatigue research over his entire career,” says David Cloud, CEO of the NSF, in a release.

Recently serving as Administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), head of the nation’s automobile safety authority, he created a new path for preventing drowsy driving crashes.

Rosekind is an internationally recognized expert on human fatigue and is credited with conducting innovative research and implementing programs in all modes of transportation. He launched his professional career at the Stanford Sleep Center and then served as director of the Fatigue Countermeasures Program at NASA.Rosekind was appointed by President Obama as a Board Member of the National Transportation Safety Board from June 2010 until December 2014. He was then appointed by President Obama as the 15th Administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Rosekind’s work has been widely published, and he has been the recipient of several awards, including NASA’s Exceptional Service Medal; the Mark O. Hatfield Award for Public Policy from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine; and fellow of the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland.