The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) named Cindy Altman, RPSGT, R. EEG/EP T, president of the Board of Directors.

Her two-year term as president begins this month. Altman has been a member of the BRPT Board since 2010 serving as chair of the Website Development Committee, an active participant on the Exam Development Committee, and this past year as president-elect. Altman is the technical director for the Creighton University Sleep Disorders Center in Omaha, Neb.

“It’s a privilege to be elected President of the BRPT Board,” said Altman. “I joined the Board at a busy and exciting time, and I am eager to continue the momentum.” Altman recognized the contributions of immediate Past-President Janice East, identifying her leadership and guidance in moving the certification exams to on-demand testing, the launch of the RPSGT recertification program and online portal, and expansion of education initiatives.

“Together with a committed and engaged Board of Directors, I am enormously gratified by all that we have accomplished during my tenure as BRPT president,” said Janice East, RPSGT, R. EEG T., director of Sleep Disorders, Neurodiagnostic and Rehabilitation Services for Morton Plant Mease Health Care in Clearwater, Fla. “BRPT is a very different organization from the one I began serving as president two years ago but it continues to be a strong allied health credentialing body. I’m proud of the great strides we have taken to position BRPT as an educational force in our field. From the creation of our Continuing Sleep Technology Education (CSTE) Program to our partnership with the Atlanta School of Sleep Medicine to the development of the Clinical Sleep Educator training program, BRPT is poised to effectively serve our credential holders and the field of sleep technology.”

The change in Board leadership takes effect this month, but an official installation will take place at a BRPT Board meeting in McLean, VA on March 3, 2012.

BRPT Board member Mike Brennen, RPSGT, of Michigan, serves as treasurer and Susan Hanson, RPSGT, CRT, Sleep Clinic Coordinator for Genesis Medical Center in Davenport, Iowa, is secretary of the BRPT Board. 

Other continuing Board members of the BRPT include: Donna Arand, PhD, Sleep Disorders Center at Kettering Hospital, Dayton, Ohio; Charles Atwood, MD, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine, Pittsburgh, Pa; Roger Godbout, RPSGT, PhD, Université ode Montreal, Sleep Laboratory and Clinic Hôpital Rivière-des-Prairies, Montréal (Québec); Michael Goldman, JD, AWAKE Northeast Regional Director for the American Sleep Apnea Association and Director of ASAA’s New York City AWAKE group (public member); Daniel Goya-Lane, RPSGT, Arkona Diagnostic Services in Long Beach, Calif; Theresa Krupski, RPSGT, RRT, the National Jewish Health Sleep Center in Denver, Colo; Daniel Mobley, RPSGT, Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, Mass; and Eddie Perez, RPSGT, OmniTrials/Sleep Disorders Center of Southwest Florida in Naples, Fla.

The BRPT Board of Directors is comprised of 12 volunteer members, all of whom serve four-year terms.