The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) has launched the Andrea Patterson Memorial Scholarship Program. The program, named in honor of an early and highly regarded leader in the field of sleep technology, will award a $2,500 tuition grant each year to a promising student of polysomnography.

“The Andrea Patterson Memorial Scholarship Program is a fitting tribute to an outstanding leader in our field,” said Janice East, RPSGT, R. EEG T., BRPT president. “Andrea Patterson’s commitment to professionalism in sleep technology helped shape the field as we know it today. This scholarship is intended to nurture a new generation of leaders in sleep technology, committed to quality patient care, professional growth, and leadership.”

Andrea Patterson, RPSGT, R. EEG T., managed the Hennepin County Sleep Program in Minneapolis for almost 30 years. She served as president of the Association of Polysomnographic Technologists (now the American Association of Sleep Technologists) and was a leader in early efforts to develop a standardized competency-based test for sleep technologists. Those efforts were instrumental in the development of the RPSGT credentialing program. She published extensively in scientific journals and served on the BRPT Exam Development Committee for over 20 years, until her death in 2007.

Scholarship applicants must be enrolled in or accepted by a CAAHEP-accredited program in PSG or a CoARC-accredited program with a PSG add-on. The scholarship application, a full description of eligibility requirements, and other program details are available at