The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) named Daniel D. Lane, RPSGT, CCSH, president of the board of directors. His 2-year term as president begins this month. Lane has been a member of the BRPT Board since 2011 serving as treasurer and working closely with the exam development committee. Lane currently works as a clinical sleep health educator for Sleep Center Orange County in Irvine, Calif.

“Daniel has been an integral member of the Board for a number of years—serving as BRPT’s Treasurer; playing an important role on the exam development committee; spearheading our STAR program; working tirelessly each year on the annual Symposium, and so much more,” says BRPT past-president Theresa Krupski, RPSGT, RRT, in a release. “Daniel brings a wealth of knowledge, expertise, and energy and I look forward to continued collaboration with him in my role as past-president.”

Lane says, “I’m excited and energized to step into the role as president of the BRPT as I’m very passionate about sleep technology and patient-centered care. It’s incredibly inspiring to work alongside this team of motivated directors, each of whom bring a different perspective and set of expertise. In 2016, I’d like to enhance and grow the BRPT’s role within the sleep community through a cohesive and collaborative approach that exemplifies the professionalism of the sleep technology and clinical sleep health fields.”

Current board member, Jessica Schmidt, MA, RPSGT, received the BRPT President’s Shining Star Award in November for her dedication and outstanding service to the organization. Krupski says, “Jessica joined the board and truly hit the ground running. She served as chair of the government relations/legislative committee and led the effort to create the Sleep Educator Reimbursement Guide. And, in 2016, Jessica is serving as BRPT Treasurer.”

The change in board leadership takes effect this month, but an official installation will take place at a BRPT Board meeting in Washington, DC on March 19, 2016.

New Board Member

Jomo Martin Nkunika, BSAST, CCSH, RPSGT, RST

Jomo M. Nkunika is a sleep medicine technologist at Sleep Services of America, a Johns Hopkins Health System company. He currently serves as a program coordinator and part-time adjunct faculty of the CAAHEP-accredited Polysomnographic Technology program at Montgomery College in Maryland, where he also serves on the program’s CoA PSG advisory committee. Previously, Jomo held various per diem and contract roles at different sleep centers in Washington, D.C. and Maryland.

Continuing Members of The Board

Theresa Krupski, BS, RRT, RPSGT, St. Joseph Hospital, Denver, CO serves as past-president and BRPT board member Donna Arand, PhD, of the Sleep Disorders Center at Kettering Hospital in Dayton, OH serves as secretary. Other continuing board members include: Bernie Chalmers, MA, Kingston, Ontario, Canada; Helen Driver, PhD, RPSGT, CCSH, DABSM, Somnologist, Sleep Disorders Lab, Kingston General Hospital and Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada; Vikas, Jain, MD, CCSH, Oklahoma City, OK; Deb Kovacs-Sturdevant, RPSGT, RRT, Mercy Health Anderson Hospital, Cincinnati, OH; Wendy Krout, RPSGT, CareFusion, Wakefield, RI; Steve Marquis, RPSGT, CCSH, UF Health, Jacksonville, FL; Daniel Mobley, RPSGT, CCSH, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA; Jessica Schmidt, RPSGT, RST, (Treasurer) Sleep Disorders Center at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital, Washington, DC.

The BRPT Board of Directors is comprised of volunteer members, all of whom serve 4-year terms. The board is international in scope and blends the expertise of the sleep community representing the interests of the consumer, patients, educators, and sleep technologists.