Through May 5, the National Sleep Foundation (NSF) is accepting nominations for its 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Lifetime Achievement Award nominees will have distinguished themselves based on professional productivity and demonstrated leadership in the sleep medicine and/or sleep research fields that has been sustained over a long period of time. The nominees will have made outstanding contributions in one or more of the following areas: original research; development and/or leadership of an enduring or effective program, organization or department; volunteering to lead and develop public and professional organizations; mentoring; teaching; policy initiatives and advocacy; additional activities that have clearly advanced sleep science, sleep medicine or the public health related to sleep; and other contributions the NSF board of directors may deem to be appropriate.

The NSF mission is to improve health and well-being through sleep education and advocacy. In keeping with the NSF mission, nominees need not be clinicians or researchers. The NSF board of directors will consider all qualified candidates and select the winner.

The winner will be required to accept the award at the NSF Award Dinner taking place typically at the city of residence of the winner. The event date in 2018 will be decided in consultation with the winner.

The nomination deadline is May 5, 2017.

Nomination Instructions

  1. Email nomination to sravin[at]
  2. Use email subject line “2018 LAA Nomination”
  3. Person making the nomination must provide his/her full name, title, organization, phone, and email
  4. Provide the candidate’s full name, title and organization/affiliation
  5. Provide a maximum of three succinct reasons for nominating the candidate

Previous Winners

2017 Mark Rosekind, PhD
2016 David Gozal, MD
2015 Emmanuel Mignot, MD, PhD
2014 Meir H. Kryger, MD
2013 Timothy A. Roehrs, PhD
2012 Michael Thorpy, MBChB
2011 Robert Y. Moore, MD, PhD
2010 Allan I. Pack, MBChB, PhD
2009 Philip R. Westbrook, MD
2008 Charles A. Czeisler, PhD, MD
2007 Sonia Ancoli-Israel, PhD
2006 James K. Walsh, PhD
2005 Christian Guilleminault, MD
2004 Allan Rechtschaffen, PhD
2003 Mary A. Carskadon, PhD
2002 Thomas Roth, PhD
2001 William C. Dement, MD, PhD