The National Sleep Foundation (NSF) announces that Max Hirshkowitz, PhD, has been elected chairman for a two-year term that began July 1.

Hirshkowitz is consulting professor at Stanford University School of Public Health and full professor, Baylor College of Medicine Department of Medicine. He was the founder and director of the Sleep Disorders and Research Center at the Michael E. DeBakey Veteran Affairs Medical Center and training director of the Baylor Sleep Medicine Fellowship Training Program.

As chair, Hirshkowitz will lead the NSF’s board of directors, comprised of physicians, scientists, and business professionals.

“I am honored to serve as chairman of the National Sleep Foundation. As the leading authority for the public, we take our stewardship role of sleep health information seriously,” Hirshkowitz says in a release. “In the coming months and years you will see many new high quality products and programs from the NSF.”

David Davila, MD, medical director of Baptist Health Medical Center in Little Rock, Ark, will serve as vice chair for a one-year term.

Newly elected members of the board include Thomas DiSalvi, CDS, of Schneider National; Paul P. Doghramji, MD, of Collegeville Family Practice; and David Neubauer, MD, of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. Prior to joining the board, all three worked as volunteers on NSF committees.

“The National Sleep Foundation is fortunate to have leaders in medicine and the industry to volunteer their expertise,” says David M. Cloud, CEO of the National Sleep Foundation. “We are proud to have Dr Hirshkowitz and Dr Davila in these leadership positions and delighted that Mr DiSalvi, and Drs Doghramji and Neubauer, will be joining the board.”