The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) elected Cindy Altman, RPSGT, R. EEG/EP T, to the post of president-elect. Altman, who is the technical director for the Creighton University Sleep Disorders Center in Omaha, Neb, has been a member of the BRPT Board of Directors for 1 year serving as the chair of the Web site development committee.

In addition, the board added the following new members: Theresa Krupski, RPSGT, RRT, lead technologist at the National Jewish Health Sleep Center, Denver; Daniel Goya-Lane, RPSGT, president of Arkona Diagnostic Services, Long Beach, Calif; Michael Goldman, BA, MS, JD, northeast regional director for the A.W.A.K.E. Group Network for the American Sleep Apnea Association (ASAA), Washington, and director of ASAA’s New York City A.W.A.K.E. group.

The change in board leadership has taken effect, but an official installation will take place at the BRPT board meeting in McLean, Va, on March 19, 2011.

BRPT board member Mike Brennen, RPSGT, Southeast Idaho Sleep Disorders Center at the Portneuf Medical Center, Pocatello, will continue to serve as treasurer, and Susan Hanson, BA, RPSGT, CRT, The Sleep Clinic at Genesis Medical Center, Davenport, Iowa, will continue to serve as secretary.

Other continuing board members include: Donna Arand, PhD, Sleep Disorders Center at Kettering Hospital, Dayton, Ohio; Charles Atwood, MD, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine; Roger Godbout, RPSGT, PhD, Université de Montreal, Sleep Laboratory and Clinic Hôpital Rivière-des-Prairies, Montréal; Daniel Mobley, RPSGT, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston; and Eddie Perez, RPSGT, OmniTrials/Sleep Disorders Center of Southwest Florida, Naples.

The BRPT Board of Directors is comprised of 12 volunteer members, all of whom serve 4-year terms. Of the 12 members, 11 are credentialed by either the BRPT or the American Board of Sleep Medicine. In addition, the Board appoints at least one public member.