The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) is now accepting applications for the third annual Andrea Patterson Memorial Scholarship Program. The program, named in honor of an early and highly regarded leader in the field of sleep technology, awards a $2,500 tuition grant each year to a promising student of polysomnography.

“Now in its third year, the scholarship program has gained momentum and draws a pool of very strong applicants,” said BRPT President Cindy Altman, RPSGT R. EEG/EP T. “I’m proud to honor Andrea’s legacy while rewarding a stellar student each year.”

Andrea Patterson, RPSGT, R. EEG T., managed the Hennepin County Sleep Program in Minneapolis for almost 30 years and was a leader in early efforts to develop a standardized competency-based test for sleep technologists. Those efforts were instrumental in the development of the RPSGT credentialing program. She published extensively in scientific journals and served on the BRPT Exam Development Committee for over 20 years, until her death in 2007.

Scholarship applicants must be enrolled in or accepted by a CAAHEP-accredited program in PSG, a CoARC-accredited program with a PSG add-on, or an accredited END program with a PSG add-on. The scholarship application, a full description of eligibility requirements, and other program details are available at The winner of the scholarship will be announced in January 2013.