The National Sleep Foundation (NSF) has elected Richard K. Bogan, MD, as chair of the foundation’s board of directors, effective July 1. Bogan is the president of Bogan Sleep Consultants LLC, and chief medical officer of SleepMed Inc. He is also associate clinical professor at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine and associate clinical professor at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, SC. Bogan has served as principal investigator on numerous clinical trials and has a variety of publications and research interests that focus on topics such as narcolepsy, insomnia, sleep apnea, shift work sleep disorder, restless legs syndrome, chronic fatigue/fibromyalgia, and circadian rhythm abnormality. As chairman of the National Sleep Foundation, Bogan will lead a board of directors composed of physicians, scientists, and business professionals.

Richard K. Bogan, MD,

Richard K. Bogan, MD,

“It’s an honor to serve as the chair of the National Sleep Foundation Board of Directors. I look forward to an exciting year of new programs and initiatives to improve sleep health,” says Bogan in a release.

Also effective July 1, Lauren Hale, PhD, serves as vice chairman. Hale is professor of Preventive Medicine, Program in Public Health, at SUNY, Stony Brook.

Benjamin Gerson, MD, Thomas Jefferson University, serves as treasurer.

David N. Neubauer, MD, associate director of the Johns Hopkins Sleep Disorders Center, serves as secretary.

Other members of the board include Helen Chang, RPh, Thomas DiSalvi, CDS, Paul P. Doghramji, MD, Jerrold A. Kram, MD, John Lopos, Steven E. Lerman, MD, MPH, Maurice M. Ohayon, MD, DSc, PhD, Temitayo Oyegbile, MD, PhD, Rafael Pelayo, MD, Kristen E. Prinz, JD, Stephen H. Sheldon, DO, and Desmar Walkes, MD.