The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) named Steve Marquis, MBA, RPSGT, CCSH, president-elect of the board of directors. His two-year term as president will begin in January 2020. Marquis has been a member of the BRPT board since 2015, serving as treasurer, chair of the continuing sleep technology education committee, and volunteer committee. Marquis is currently the manager of the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Sleep Centers.

“Steve’s contributions to the BRPT began long before he joined the Board,” says BRPT president Jessica Schmidt, MA, FACHE, RPSGT, CCSH, in a release. “Steve previously volunteered with the BRPT education program task force and with the exam development committee. As treasurer, Steve transformed our financial planning, management, and reporting system. His instincts and insights are a tremendous asset to the organization.”

Steve Marquis, MBA, RPSGT, CCSH

Steve Marquis, MBA, RPSGT, CCSH

“I’m excited to serve as BRPT’s next president, and to continue to work with—and to learn from—Jessica this year,” says Marquis. “I’ve had the opportunity to work alongside industry leaders in many different areas of the organization—from education, to the exam development process, to the financials. I’m eager to step into this new role, energized by the opportunities that lie ahead.”

Jomo Martin Nkunika, MSHCA, BS, CCSH, RPSGT, will begin his term as treasurer in January 2019. Nkunika is a clinical manager at MedBridge Health and a part-time faculty/program director at the CAAHEP-accredited sleep medicine technology program at Montgomery College in Maryland. Currently, Nkunika serves on the BRPT finance committee and previously served on the education committee. In addition, he was a key member of the website development task force, which worked to launch a new BRPT website in 2017.

These new roles in board leadership take effect January 1, but an official installation will take place at the next board of directors meeting in February.

The BRPT board of directors is comprised of volunteer members, all of whom serve 4-year terms. The board is international in scope and blends the expertise of the sleep community representing the interests of the consumer, patients, educators, and sleep technologists.