The Accreditation Commission for Health Care Inc received notice on September 20, 2011, from the Medical Directors of the four DME MACs, approving the addition of ACHC as an accreditation body in the DME MAC local coverage determination (LCD) (L11518) for Positive Airway Pressure (PAP) Devices for the Treatment of Obstructive Sleep Apnea.

According to the LCD, “For PAP devices with initial dates of service on or after November 1, 2008, all HSTs (Type II, III, IV, Other) must be interpreted by a physician who holds either:
1. Current certification in Sleep Medicine by the American Board of Sleep Medicine (ABSM); or,
2. Current subspecialty certification in Sleep Medicine by a member board of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS); or,
3. Completed residency or fellowship training by an ABMS member board and has completed all the requirements for subspecialty certification in sleep medicine except the examination itself and only until the time of reporting of the first examination for which the physician is eligible; or,
4. Active staff membership of a sleep center or laboratory accredited by the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) or The Joint Commission (formerly the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations –(JCAHO).”

Along with the AASM and JCAHO, ACHC will be added to the accrediting bodies listed in the fourth criterion.

This decision applies to all of the DME MACs including:
NHIC, Corp – Part B DME MAC Jurisdiction A,
National Government Services Inc – DME MAC Jurisdiction B,
CGS Administrators, LLC – DME MAC Jurisdiction C, and
Noridian Administration Services, LLC – DME MAC Jurisdiction D.