The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) is now accepting applications for the fifth annual Andrea Patterson Memorial Scholarship Program. The scholarship, named for an early and highly regarded leader in the field of sleep technology, awards a $2,500 tuition grant each year to a promising student of polysomnography (PSG).
BRPT President Theresa Krupski, RPSGT, RRT, says in a release: “The Scholarship program is a highlight each year as I very much enjoy learning more about the next generation of sleep technologists and what led them into the field. The applicant pool is comprised of motivated professionals on a very clear career path.”

Andrea Patterson, RPSGT, R. EEG T., managed the Hennepin County Sleep Program in Minneapolis for almost 30 years and was a leader in early efforts to develop a standardized competency-based test for sleep technologists. Those efforts were instrumental in the development of the RPSGT credentialing program. She published extensively in scientific journals and served on the BRPT Exam Development Committee for over 20 years, until her death in 2007.

Scholarship applicants must be enrolled in or accepted by a CAAHEP-accredited program in PSG, a CoARC-accredited program with a PSG add-on, or an accredited END program with a PSG add-on. The scholarship application, a full description of eligibility requirements, and other program details are available at Applications must be completed and returned to the BRPT no later than close of business November 30. The winner will be announced in February 2015.