The Society of Behavioral Sleep Medicine (SBSM) held its 5th Annual Scientific Conference from November 3-5, 2023, in San Diego. The SBSM and the Journal of Behavioral Sleep Medicine (JBSM) honored 17 behavioral sleep specialists at an awards dinner on Friday, Nov. 4.

The SBSM award winners for 2023 are as follows.

Outstanding BSM Advocate Award 

Tracy Chisholm, PsyD, DBSM 

Champion BSM Advocate Award

Christina McCrae, PhD, DBSM, FSBSM 

Outstanding Innovation in BSM Service Delivery

Gregory Amatrudo, PsyD

Outstanding Leader in Altruistic Delivery of BSM Award

Leisha Cuddihy, PhD, DBSM 

Intern Fellow Graduate Project Award

Andrew Tubbs, PhD 

Pre-Intern Graduate Project Award

Anthony Cifre, MS, MA 

Bootzin Mid-Career Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award

Kelly Baron, PhD, DBSM

Arthur Spielman Early Career Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award 

Ariel Williamson, PhD, DBSM

Fellow Awardees

  • Yelena Cherynak, PhD, DBSM, FSBSM
  • Michelle Drerup, PsyD, DBSM, FSBSM 

Travel Award Winners

  • Emily Feldman, MS (also Scientific Poster Award winner)
  • Rebecca Campbell, MA
  • Rebecca Williams, MA
  • Gabriella Gloston, MS

The JBSM award winners for 2023 are as follows.

Kenneth Lichstein Award for Editorial Excellence

Fiona Baker, PhD

Judy Owens Award for Editorial Excellence

Norah Vincent, PhD

Early Career Distinguished Career Award

Fiona Davidson, for the paper “Even a Mild Sleep Restriction Can Impact Daytime Functioning in Children with ADHD and Their Typically Developing Peers

Illustration 84339230 © Burlesck |