The American Academy of Sleep Medicine honors five professionals for their work in advancing the field of sleep medicine.

Summary: The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) has selected five individuals for its 2024 awards in recognition of their contributions to sleep medicine. The recipients will be honored at the SLEEP 2024 annual meeting in Houston. They are recognized for achievements in leadership, research, education, advocacy, and clinical care, highlighting their dedication to advancing sleep medicine.

Key Takeaways: 

  • The 2024 AASM awards honor contributions in various aspects of sleep medicine, including leadership, research, education, advocacy, and clinical care, showcasing the wide-ranging impact of the recipients’ work.
  • The five awardees are Michael Littner, MD, for Distinguished Leadership; Shahrokh Javaheri, MD, for Excellence in Research; Iris Perez, MD, for Excellence in Education; Lynne Lamberg, MA, for Sleep Health Advocate; and Lisa Wolfe, MD, for Clinical Achievement.
  • These individuals will be recognized for their achievements during the plenary session of the SLEEP 2024 annual meeting in Houston.

Five individuals have been selected as the 2024 American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) award recipients for their outstanding contributions to the field of sleep medicine. 

They will be recognized Monday, June 3, during the plenary session of the SLEEP 2024 annual meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies in Houston.

“I applaud this year’s award recipients for their significant contributions to the field of sleep medicine,” says AASM president James A. Rowley, MD, in a release. “Their leadership and remarkable accomplishments in research, education, advocacy, and clinical care are an inspiration to all who share the AASM vision that sleep and circadian care is fundamental to health care.”

The 2024 AASM award recipients were nominated by a colleague, recommended by the Awards Advisory Panel, and approved by the board of directors.

2024 American Academy of Sleep Medicine Award Recipients

The five 2024 AASM award recipients are: 

  • Michael Littner, MD – “Distinguished Leadership Award”
    • Littner developed and was chair of the AASM Board Review Course, was chair of the AASM Standards of Practice Committee, was an accreditation site visitor, and served on various other committees within the AASM. 
    • Littner was a visionary who recognized the potential of home sleep apnea test devices, behavioral sleep medicine, and oral appliance therapy, incorporating them in his practice at the VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System, where he also co-founded the UCLA sleep medicine training program. 
    • He graduated from the University of Toronto Medical School and trained in pulmonary medicine at UCLA, where he is professor emeritus of medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine.
  • Shahrokh Javaheri, MD – “Excellence in Research Award”
    • Javaheri is internationally known for his research on various sleep disorders, especially his studies exploring sleep apnea and its relationship to cardiovascular disease. 
    • His areas of focus include heart failure, opioids-associated sleep apnea, and treatment-emergent central sleep apnea. Much of his research was conducted in the sleep lab that he founded at the VA Medical Center in Cincinnati. 
    • He is a sleep physician in the division of pulmonary and sleep medicine at Bethesda North Hospital in Cincinnati, professor emeritus of medicine in the division of pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine at University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, and adjunct professor of medicine in the division of cardiology at The Ohio State University.
  • Iris Perez, MD – “Excellence in Education Award”
    • Perez is the program director of the sleep medicine fellowship training program at the University of Southern California and Children’s Hospital Los Angeles. 
    • She is renowned for her research and teaching about ventilatory control disorders, particularly congenital central hypoventilation syndrome, which is a rare genetic disorder. 
    • Perez has mentored 23 undergraduate premedical students and medical students, 14 pediatric pulmonology and sleep medicine fellows, and eight junior faculty members. 
    • She is an associate professor of clinical pediatrics at the Keck School of Medicine at the University of Southern California and a pediatric pulmonologist and sleep medicine specialist at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, where she also serves as the director of the Congenital Central Hypoventilation Syndrome and Diaphragm Pacing Program.
  • Lynne Lamberg, MA – “Sleep Health Advocate Award”
    • Lynne Lamberg is a medical journalist and science writer who has written five books and hundreds of articles about sleep, biological rhythms, dreams, and mental health. 
    • Spanning nearly five decades, her publications have described for both professional and public audiences the findings of sleep and circadian researchers. She frequently writes about sleep, insomnia, and mood disorders for Psychiatric News, which is published by the American Psychiatric Association. 
    • Her contributions have earned awards including the Communications Career Leadership Award from the National Sleep Foundation and an outstanding book award from the American Society of Journalists and Authors. Lamberg is also a book editor for the National Association of Science Writers.
  • Lisa Wolfe, MD – “The Clinical Achievement Award”
    • Wolfe is the inaugural recipient of this new award, which recognizes a sleep clinician who has made transformative contributions to clinical sleep care. 
    • Wolfe is a world-renowned expert in advanced home ventilation for the management of patients with complex sleep and neuromuscular disorders including sleep apnea, chronic respiratory failure, obesity hypoventilation, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. 
    • She attended medical school at The Ohio State University and trained in internal medicine, pulmonary diseases, critical care medicine, and sleep medicine at Northwestern University, where she now serves as a professor of medicine and neurology. She also is the medical director of respiratory care at the Shirley Ryan Ability Lab.

More information about the AASM awards is available online.

Photo 158781171 © Vladislav Astanin |